The Fabric of Our Lives.

Image

Textiles touch our lives almost every moment of every day.  From the clothing that you wear to the seats in your vehicle, the carpet of rug that you walk on, the towels that you dry off with, the purse/handbag that you carry, the covers that keep you snug at night, the coat that keeps you warm, the piece of furniture that you relax on.  The list goes on for forever.  We so often don’t pay attention to the textile that touch our lives.  There are many different textiles and I am going to focus on the ones that make up the fabric of our lives, the main fabrics that make up what we wear.

patterns and blog post 002

My mother, Mary gave this book to me the other day to list in our shop on Etsy.  Well, I started thumbing through it and decided that I would do that when I finished reading it.  There is some really great information in this book.  I am also showing a picture of the book to you and telling you that the copyright is in 1966 by McCall’s corporation to hopefully prevent myself of being guilty of plagiarism.  I will not be making any direct quotes from this book.

When you give fabric close consideration you can see that is really fascinating.  I have found that fabric can be as unpredictable in behavior as an individual.  The more you know about fabric the more you will enjoy using it.  I have found that to be so true.  It amazes me that denim can be so comfortable in the hot Texas summers and provide warmth and comfort when the chill tries to get into your bones.  That is because it is cotton.  Cotton is the most popular type of fabric that there is.  I have been amazed at all of the different types of fabric that can come from cotton.  Are you ready for this, because I am about to give you a list of some of the types of fabric that can come from cotton.  Here we go: batiste, broadcloth, calico, challis, chambray, chino, chintz, corduroy, denim, diminty, flannel, gabardine, gingham, lawn, madras, matelasse, muslin, percale, pique, poplin, sateen, seersucker, terry cloth, ticking, velvet, velveteen,  etc.  There are more than just these fabrics.  My that was a list wasn’t it?    That is just cotton.  Then there are cotton blends, linens, silks, etc.  Those are just the natural fibers.  Wool and mohair are also natural fibers but they are of animal origin.  I am not going to go into a lot of detail because I am not trying to teach a class about cloth and fabric.  If you want to know about the different types of fabrics that are in our world there are all kinds of resources from the internet to your public library.

patterns and blog post 003

This is an article about Polly Leonard, creator and editor of the magazine Selvedge.  You can go to the web-site for Selvedge at Selvedge.org.  Polly and her magazine are based out of London, England.  Polly has a degree in textiles and she spent a decade teaching textiles before she had to leave the world of teaching.  Polly’s is such an interesting and inspiring story that is in the magazine ‘Where Women Create’ January 2013 issue by Stampington and Company.  I am still trying not to be guilty of plagiarism.  I think that I included all of the necessary information.  Polly has a deep appreciation of textiles and she possesses a through knowledge of them.  She worked diligently to open a store in North London that contains textiles from around the world.  The textiles in this shop are not of the mass produced persuasion.  The items in this store are done by hand.  I think that I could spend and entire day just in that store.  In this store you can really get an idea about how textiles touch our lives in so many ways.  If you get the opportunity to read this article I would recommend that you do.

The next blog post that I make will be discussing fashioning an image.  This will go along with the blog posts that I have made – ‘What is Your Q factor’ and ‘You are not Mass Produced’.  I hope that you will come and read more.  I will be using, again, the McCall’s Step by Step Sewing Book.  This is a great book.

One response »

Leave a Reply

