Do you know the difference between petite and misses sizes? Let me tell you.

Image

Blog post - petite to misses 001

I am using the book ‘McCall’s Step-by-Step Sewing Guide’ again.  Today I want to talk about figure types.  When I was growing up I was familiar with mostly misses sizes because by the time I was nine years old I was as large as my mother.  I was always very tall for my age group.  Imagine wearing misses sizes at nine years old.  Well, I did.  I did not ever know about petite sizes much.  How could I be petite like that.  The only other size that I heard about was junior size.  Well, I have never been junior in size.  I did not stop growing until I was in my mid-twenties.  Now, on a good day, I am 6 feet 3 inches tall.  I meet women taller than me but all tall women have the same problems.  I just want to let you in on this because being tall is not always as great as one may think.

Back to figure types.  Quoting the book that I have referred to “Misses is considered the average figure type, about 5 feet 6 inches tall, with ‘average’ waist length and bust position’.  A young girl’s pattern is made for an average height of about 5 feet tall without the bustline and shorter-waisted.  Pre-teen is just above that in height with minimal bustline allowed.  Pre-teen is about 5 feet 3 inches with a high bustline and short-waisted.  Junior/Petite is for the small and mature frame that is about 5 feet 1 inch tall, short-waisted and average bustline position.  Half sizes are short-waisted and lower bustlined at about 5 feet 3 inches tall.  Then there is women’s sizes.  These sizes are for the larger figure of about 5 feet 6 inches and an average bust position.

Most of this information that I am providing does not apply to modern-day patterns but mostly to vintage patterns.  I do not come across pre-teen sizes in modern-day patterns.  Below is another  picture that shows the differences that is provided.

Blog post - petite to misses 002

I have kept this photo large so that you may be able to see the differences better.  There are essential measurements that are needed for determining your figure type and size.  These measurements include: height, back waist length, bust, waist and hip.  Get someone to help you out.  I don’t know about getting your husband to help you though.  I know my husband would not be much help.

I hope that you find this blog posting informative.  I did when I read it.  I have not come across another book that explained the differences as clearly as this book.

Till next time everyone!

One response »

  1. Thank you for that. I always assumed that ‘misses’ were for young teens and ‘petite’ a woman of small stature. I didn’t realise it was so much more technical with height of bust etc.

Leave a Reply

