I did not know that this was sooOOOoo much fun!

Image

blog post for 3.14.13 003

Stamping.  That is what is so much fun.  I had a thought pop into my head and I tried it out.  I had a great time doing it.  The stamping that I did was not a great big project but I did enjoy it.  I was inspired by the two stamping blocks in the middle of the picture – the silhouettes of the women.  Both of these remind me of 1930s and 1940s.  I happened upon them when I was at Michael’s’ yesterday.  They were marked at clearance prices.  I just picked them up and purchased them.  When I got home I put them in my little workroom.  .  I already had the fabric inks in primary colors.  This is due to my Mum.  She had some fabric inks and she painted some images on a tote bag that she made for an acquaintance of hers.  She has gone on and on about how much she enjoyed it.  Therefore I purchased some for myself.  I did have some other stamping blocks and a brayer.  I had planned on doing some stamping on fabric at some time.  I just did not have any idea of what to do.  Then when I was finished washing a t-shirt that I had tea dyed the inspiration came to me.

blog post for 3.14.13 001

I must say that I find myself tea dyeing just about everything now.  I like to do it.  The next photo shows what I had thought of.

blog post for 3.14.13 002

This is not a perfect job of stamping but this is the first time that I have ever done this.  I must say that it is messy so be careful it you decide to do this.  Don’t wear good clothes and have lots of paper towels handy.  Fortunately with this ink that I am using it washes off easily with soap and water.  I did have to wash the brayer and the rubber stamps more than once.  As soon as I finished stamping the bottom portion of the front of the tea dyed t-shirt I wanted to do the back.  Here is what I finished with.

blog post for 3.14.13 004

Front

blog post for 3.14.13 005

Back.

  As you can see the t-shirt did not accept the tea dyeing evenly.  That does not bother me.  I do like it because it makes me think of something that is well-worn and ‘broken in’.  I brought it out and showed my husband.  He had an immediate response.  He said, “That’s cool.  You will be able to see that without a problem!”  I told him that I am being selfish and that this shirt is for me.  Tomorrow I will be stamping another shirt as I stamped this one.

blog post for 3.14.13 006

I made another one like this that I also tea dyed and I embellished it differently.  I will be stamping this one tomorrow.  When I am finished I will post pictures.  I plan to do the stamping in the morning and heat set the ink with the iron in the afternoon.  Be watching for the ‘after’ photo.

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

