My new project – Harem Pants.

Image

pics for blog post 002

When I saw this book I just had to look at it and when I looked at it I had to purchase it.  The clothing in this book that the designer designed have become my style.  That style is very loose-fitting and comfortable.  I did not necessarily choose that style, it has chosen me.

pics for blog post 005

These are the harem pants that I plan to make.  They are loose-fitting don’t you agree?  I have even read the instructions for pattern layout and sewing instructions.  However, just because I read them does not mean the I will follow them.  I know that I should not make light of following instructions.  It is just that I see the opportunity to put in some of my own creativity.  I have really been doing that lately.  I must confess that it has been a lot of fun too.

pics for blog post 003

There are not a lot of pattern pieces.  What makes these ‘harem pants’ more unique is the detail in the sewing.  From the instructions that I have read these details will not be hard to do.

As you can see in the first photo I had to print the pattern out on my computer.  something like 28 pages.  Now I have to tape all of these together.  Boy, I look forward to that.  I have already reviewed all of the pages and it will not be difficult.  The bigger challenge will be picking the fabric.  I have thought about this for a while and I do believe that I know which piece of fabric that I will use and I will be making a blog post in the near future with that information in it.

Now that I know that I am going to make the ‘harem pants’ I need to have something to wear on top.  I do not want to make the top on the front of the book that the model is wearing with the harem pants.  I just finished making a new top that is really a great top.

pics os my top 003

The fabric that I used in this top was plain white cotton fabric that I colored using fabric paint.  Of course I made the top after I did the stamping on the band at the bottom of the top.  I finally tried the top on today and I absolutely love this top.  It would be just perfect if I were to make it a size or two smaller but that does not go with my lifestyle at this time.  I have decided to make this top to go with the pants that I have already talked about.  I am going to make it out of some cotton fabric that I hand dyed a couple of years ago.  I think that it will be perfect.

I will be making blog posts as I make this outfit so please come and see how I am doing at it.  Hopefully I won’t be a flop.

5 responses »

  1. I like how you said…this style chose me. The wiser I become, the more comfortable I want to be🙂 This pattern will suit so many women that would want comfortable clothes to wear. m.

Leave a Reply

