Let me tell you a story about ………

Image

Quilted by Trisha Cribbs 001

This is a quilt that my mum made for me several years ago.  She didn’t do it all by herself though.  Mum picked out the colors and pieced them together.  You may not be impressed by that but that is what I requested.  I like quilts made from blocks of color and I like to have the quilting, the stitching stand out more.  This quilt was inspired by one that I saw in a magazine.  It has turned out to be very different from the one in the magazine.

At the time that Mum was making this quilt for me there was a quilting shop that had opened in the town that she and my father live by.  This shop was opened by the well know quilt artist, Trisha Cribbs.  Mum admired her work and the machine quilting that Trisha did with a longarm.  Mum had not seen that before.  Later when she took me into the store I was impressed too because I had not seen a longarm.  Trisha had her shop open for approximately one year, give or take.  Mum told me that Trisha was not doing any machine quilting for the public.  Or so she thought.  I don’t know how my mum does it, but she talked Trisha into doing the machine quilting on this quilt.  When Mum told me about it she took me to Trisha’s shop.  Well, I was impressed.  I did not know how well know Trisha was but that was not what impressed me ………… until later.  I saw her handmade quilts that she had exhibited and I saw her books on one of the quilts that she designed, “Turning Twenty”.  I know that Trisha did the quilting on this quilt because when I was in her shop I my quilt was on the frame and I asked her to show me how it was done.  She showed me a bit.  Let me tell you that it was all that I could do not to ask if I could do some because I wanted to  sooooooo badly.

Quilted by Trisha Cribbs 002

Quilted by Trisha Cribbs 003

When Trish finished doing the machine quilting Mum finished it with the biased binding and gave it to me.  I don’t think that I need to tell you that this quilt occupies a special place in my home and that is not only on my bed.  My understanding was that Trisha was adamant about declining custom machine quilting but somehow Mum talked her into it.  Mum has this way of doing that.  She is 5 feet 4 inches plus a bit, and a sweet little gray-haired lady.  She always has a smile on her face and sees the positive in every situation or looks to find it.  She is an incredible woman and I love her.

I hope that you enjoy this testimonial because I have enjoyed telling you this little story.  By the way, Mum named the quilt, “Coffee with Brunch” because I wanted to have a java theme in my bedroom because I do love coffee.  I designed the headboard and a friend made it for me.  I finished it and stained it.   That was the first time that I ever stained anything.  The stain color is java bean.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

