A forty-five year old woman and her blankie.

Image

My Blankie 001

That woman would be me.  Yes, I have a blankie and this is it.  I have had my blankie for 37 years and it does look a bit worse for wear.  Do you notice the block that is essentially gone.  I do not care.  I will not give up my blankie.  It is my security blanket because my mum made it for me when I was 8 years old and I helped her.

Mum decided to make blankets for my brother and me when I was 8 and he was 9.  She gathered up all of the fabric that she wanted to use for each one and used a National Geographic magazine as the pattern for the blocks.  My brother and I marked each piece of fabric with the “pattern” and cut out each piece by hand.  It took so very long to do that.  Well, it seemed that way to me at the old age of 8.  Then Mum sewed the pieces together.  She sandwiched batting between the blanket top and the backing fabric.  On my blanket she put ties at each four point intersection.  On my brother’s blanket she put buttons.  Then she finished it all off with biased binding.  My brother’s quilt is long gone I regret to say.  You can see mine.

My Blankie 003

Approximately 10 years ago Mum took pity on me and my blankie.  There were so many blocks like the green one in the center of this photo.  It was not much more than rags.  She said that I should dispose of it.  WHAT?  Not my blankie.  That is what I said.  She took my blankie from me and went to work on it.  She replaced so many of the individual blocks like the pink one with the stars on it.  There were so many to replace that the only thing that she could think to do was to sew them straight onto the blanket going through the batting (she replaced parts of that too) and the backing fabric.

My Blankie 004

Then she replace every single tie on the blanket.  Then my blankie came back to me.  As you can see I still use that poor thing.  When I am sick or injured, I get better faster,  My blankie protects me from all that scares me especially lightning and thunder.  When I am lonely, I wrap up in my blankie and I am good.   I can’t get rid of it.  That is all that there is too it.

My Blankie 002

My blankie lives on.

Leave a Reply

