It is so cold, these pigs need a blanket.

Image

This blog is for the pigs 001

It is still so cold here in this part of Texas after the ice storm that I felt that my husband and I needed a good comfort food.  I found this recipe about 15 years ago and I have made it before.  It reminds me of the ‘Pigs in a Blanket’ that was served at the school that I attended when I was a child.  This is not the healthiest recipe but it really does taste good now and again.  This recipe calls for regular hot dogs that are split and cheese is put into the split.  I just  use hot dogs that already have the cheese in them.  I do prefer Ball Park franks but I used Eckrich franks for this.  Any type of franks, hot dogs, or smoked sausage could be used for this.  I certainly need to get some yeast that is more fresh but what I have did work.

This blog is for the pigs 002

I am mixing the dough with my hand mixer, following the directions of course.  It is not too often that I follow directions as they are written but I have done so for this recipe because I have not made it in a while.  This hand mixer is so great.  It is a hand mixer and I hope that you notice the dough hooks.  This mixer has enough power to mix dough.  I purchased it about 15 years ago and I use it a lot.  It didn’t cost a fortune either.  I purchased it at Wal-Mart of all places.

This blog is for the pigs 005

Here is the dough all mixed and ready to spend an hour or more doubling in size in a warm place.

This blog is for the pigs 006

In this photo I have punched the dough down and divided it into 8 pieces that I will roll out into approximately 5.5 by 2.5 inch ‘blankets’ that I will wrap around my little piggies.

This blog is for the pigs 007

They are all wrapped up in their ‘blankets’ and the dough is rising for 30 minutes.

This blog is for the pigs 008

Perfection!

You should taste these ‘Pigs in a Blanket’!  They take me back to my school days.  My husband is happy too.  This is just what we needed on a day like this.

12-9-2013 001

I hope that you give this recipe a try because it is worth it.  It is sure to be a big hit with children.  They keep well in the refrigerator and reheat in the microwave.  Stay warm everyone.

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Lollipop-Designs Art | Pigs in a Blanket

Leave a Reply

