Hotfix cryatals are easy to do ……….. right.

Image

hotfix crystal blog post 001

My mother, Mary, started using hotfix crystals and I have admired what she has done.  It took a while but I have finally decided to give it a try myself.  I investigated a couple of sources for the hotfix applicator, which you can see in this first photo, and hotfix crystals to purchase at the same time.  I finally settled on Amazon, purchasing a package deal of applicator and crystals.  I received the applicator approximately 10 days ago and I found out that the crystals are coming from Singapore.  That is going to be a while still so off I went to Michael’s.  It took a bit of time but I finally located the crystals and I almost dropped to my knees when I saw the price.  I only purchased a few packages of them deciding that I can wait.  Now I can give this an honest try.

hotfix crystal blog post 002

I am making fabric covered flat backed button earrings.  I used fabric that I hand dyed and thought  I would add the crystals to them for some interest.  As you can see it is not starting out too good.  Doing it the way the instructions indicate is really awkward.  My mother has been doing this for a bit so I called her.  She told me that she places the crystal where she wants it to be and then holds the applicator on top of the crystal to heat the stone/glass to activate the glue.  I hope that way will work better than this way because it doesn’t look quite right.  Off I go.

hotfix crystal blog post 003

In this picture the crystal in the groove of the applicator and it is heating it to get the glue to melt.  I found that I had a really difficult time putting the stone just where I wanted it when I turned it over.  The crystal went in places that I did not want to go to.

hotfix crystal blog post 004

This is looking a bit better and I have definitely had more control of where the crystals end up.  Obviously I will be needing more practice.

hotfix crystal blog post 007

This is how Mary, my mother, does it.  She places the crystals where she wants them and the holds the applicator on the crystal to get the glue on the back of the crystal melted and adhered to the fabric.  In this picture I am applying the crystals to a yo-yo  that I made out of the same hand dyed fabric.  This yo-yo is going to be a brooch.  I still need to secure the button, apply the felt backing and the brooch pin.  I wanted to give you an idea of what I am making.

hotfix crystal blog post 008

SUCCESS!!  The crystals have adhered to the yo-yo.  They are not falling off.  Obviously, I need some more practice.  I need more crystals to use for practice.  Since I am impatient I am going to order some more crystals from Fire Mountain Gems.  Those will be here within a few days.

hotfix crystal blog post 009

I can live with this for my first project.  I have to admit that I did enjoy this …… finally.  It took a bit of time but all turned out good in the end thanks to my Mum, Mary.

6 responses »

  1. I really like the look of the matching brooch and ear rings. I love the way the fabric sort of swirls on the brooch. I have not heard of these crystals before. Thanks for such an interesting post.

  2. Thanks for the info! I’ve been thinking about using hotfix myself, but I wonder if a “bedazzler” accomplishes the same thing. More investigating on my to-do list! Keep us posted, girl!

Leave a Reply

