Let’s get this tunic sewn together.

Image

tunic top 011

After applying the fusible interfacing to the interfacing fabric pieces according to the directions that come with the interfacing follow the instructions that comes with the pattern.  Be sure to finish the ‘raw edges’ of the interfacing with some stitching.  There will not be a lot of fraying of the fabric because of the fusible interfacing but it is a good idea to do so anyway.

tunic top 012

Now you must sew those darts.  Be sure to match the dots and the lines.  In this picture I am pointing to  one of the ‘dots’.  In the markings that I did on this pattern I marked an ‘X’ where the dots are.  Take your time and get the lines and dots as close as possible.  If they are not exact get them as even as possible.  When you are using a printed pattern there can be variations in the printing.  Just do your very best.

tunic top 013

Every thing is lines up, now sew along the line.

tunic top 014

See why I am using bright red thread on white fabric.

tunic top 015

In this photo the darts on both sides are done and it might look a bit wonky but it will all make sense in the end.

tunic top 019

On this tunic top it is very important to include all if the arrows, dots and etc.  It will really make sense to you on the construction of a tunic like this because of how the shoulder seams are put together with the type of facing used in the design of this top.  Just continue to watch these pictures.  I try to provide as much visual aide as I can with the pictures.

tunic top 020

I am always saying to press open your seams.  I am not beyond doing a finger press or using a wooden pressing tool as seen in this picture.  I purchased this at a quilting show.  It does not have to be just for quilts.

tunic top 022

Oh yes, my seam ripper gets a lot of use even still.  Okay not as much as when I first started sewing.

tunic top 023

A zigzag stitch can be used along ‘raw edges’.  you just want some stitching to stop any fraying.  I am using a good cotton fabric and there is not a lot of fraying with it.  I still like to finish the edges.

tunic top 025

Now, follow the instructions on the pattern and pin the facing to the front and back of the tunic.  Then you will sew a seam where indicated.  The shoulder seams of this tunic are not sewn together yet.  Keep watching.

tunic top 027

Facing sewn to the neck and arm holes of the tunic as instructed.  Look closely at the armhole seams where it gets close to the top of the shoulder.  The seam ends quite a ways away from the shoulder.  There is a reason.

tunic top 028

Clip the curves now.  Be sure not to go all of the way up to the stitching or you will have a hole.  I do know this because I have clipped to close.

tunic top 030

Pin the shoulder seams together as instructed and sew.  It does work out.

tunic top 033

Top stitch around the neck and arms when you have finished sewing the shoulder seams together.

Now we have to hem this top.  The end is in site.

tunic top 035

Follow the instructions provided with the pattern.  Always press with your iron and use a seam gauge.

Now I want to make this white tunic red.

fire red tunic 003

Not quite right.  I must go and dye this again.

red tunic 002

Oh yes, so much better.  There is just a bit more that I want to do.  I have 2 appliques that I want to put on this tunic.  My mother hand painted 2 appliques of parrots because I asked her to.  I think that they turned out so nice.

red tunic with appliques 001

I put fusible interfacing on the back of them and applied them with free motion stitching.  My mother hand mixed the colors that she used to paint the parrots.  I like them.

red tunic with appliques 003

Now, would you like to see the project that I am working on as I have been writing these last few blog posts.  Good, because I want to share it with you.

003

This is a tunic top/dress by Tina Givens and the fabric is this luscious olive-green Irish linen.  This lined is soooooooo some and the drape is so nice.  I purchased this lined years ago and I have been waiting until the right project came along.  I saw this tunic and I had to have it.

004

I wish that the tunic featured here was not black.  It makes it so hard to see the details but they are great, trust me.  I will be showing you my finished tunic.

001Here I am taping pattern pieces together.  That is required in this pattern.  Not difficult at all.  Much easier the a pfd pattern.

002

Yep, that is low tack painters’ tape.  I ran out of clear tape and this is what I had.  Then I decided that it is a good idea because I will probably lengthen this pattern in the future and what could be easier than low tack tape?

Now I have already cut out the pattern and I am in the process of transferring the markings.  There are not too many of those either.

I will be back shortly to share an update with you.

6 responses »

  1. You are better! You have already finish one project🙂 Very inspiring!
    One qustion – why/what for do you need a seam gauge while pressing (… “Always press with your iron and use a seam gauge.”).
    You need this for sure – well, it is handy to use when marking seam allowances.

Leave a Reply

